Thursday, 14 May 2015

Review: Off the Page by Jodi Picoult and Samantha van Leer

From #1 New York Times bestselling authors Jodi Picoult and her daughter and coauthor, Samantha van Leer, comes OFF THE PAGE, a tender and appealing romantic YA novel filled with humor, adventure, and just a little bit of magic.

Meet Oliver, a prince literally taken from the pages of a fairy tale and transported into the real world. Meet Delilah, the girl who wished Oliver into being. It’s a miracle that seems perfect at first. Sure, Oliver doesn’t know that you shouldn’t try to open your locker with a dagger or that there’s no such thing as “the ruler” of the local mall. But he also looks at Delilah as if she’s the only girl in the world—the only girl in any world—and Delilah can’t help feeling that being with him is a dream come to life.

But not every story can have a happy ending. Because the book wants Oliver back. And it will turn both worlds upside down to get him.

Oliver and Delilah will have to decide what—and who—they’re willing to risk for love and what it really means for a fairy tale to come true.

Full of humor and witty commentary about life, OFF THE PAGE is a stand-alone novel as well as the companion to the authors’ #1 bestseller Between the Lines. Fans of Sarah Dessen and Meg Cabot are sure to appreciate this novel about love, romance, and happily-ever-afters.

Hardcover, 384 pages
Expected publication: May 19th 2015 by Delacorte Press 
Genre: YA/Romance

Kristine's Thoughts:

* I received a copy of this book through a Goodreads giveaway in exchange for an honest review.*

So I have to admit that I wasn't sure how I would feel about this book but I was curious. I did not read Between the Lines before tackling this book and I had no trouble following along. Be that as it may, I was still really curious about how the first book played out and think that I may have really enjoyed it.

I found myself really liking the story and was able to move through it quickly. I think that it is a great story that some of the younger YA fans will really enjoy. Older fans will have no trouble enjoying it either, but I think that some may think it is too sweet and clean for their liking. The book was filled with romance, imagination, complications as well as humour.

I enjoyed getting to know all of the characters but I liked Oliver the most. I really enjoyed reading about his struggled to live in the real world versus the book. It made for some great moments. Who doesn't like a real life Prince Charming?

This book was a pleasant distraction from reality that I am glad to have had the opportunity to read. Although it is marketed as a companion novel I do think there would be a slight benefit to reading the first book beforehand to fully grasp how they got to be where they were.

About the Authors
Jodi Picoult is the author of twenty-two novels, including the #1 New York Times bestsellers The Storyteller, Lone Wolf, Between the Lines, Sing You Home, House Rules, Handle with Care, Change of Heart, Nineteen Minutes, and My Sister’s Keeper. She lives in New Hampshire with her husband and three children.
Connect with Jodi
Samantha van Leer is a junior in high school. She conceived the idea for Between the Lines and pitched it to her mom, Jodi Picoult, who was in the middle of a book tour. In her spare time, Samantha can be found playing softball, doing contemporary dance, acting and singing in musicals, and cuddling on the ground with her two dogs, Dudley and Oliver—for whom the prince in this fairy tale was named.  

1 comment:

  1. OOoh nice! I just finished reading Between the Lines today to prepare for this one! I've only had it since its release almost 3 years ago! Not nearly the oldest book in the TBR Mountain of Doom! LOL!

    But the first book was amazing! I loved it and I purposely avoided looking at this book until I read the first. So I was pondering if Oliver and Delilah would star in this or some of the other characters we saw! Knowing now it is Delilah and Oliver makes me all sorts of curious and what will happen to Oliver!

    Great review!